Reflection on John 14:15-22

John 14-20 You WIll Know That You Are In Me And I Am In You blue.jpg

Passage: https://www.biblegateway.com/passsage/?search=John+14.15-22

Scripture

“On that day you will realise that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”

Observation

Jesus tells the disciples that if they love Him they will obey His commands. He will send the Comforter, the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept Him because the world does not know Him.

Jesus is going, but because He lives we also will live. We will know the unity of the Father with the Son and with us.

Application

Often we fail to understand the true unity of the believer with God through the Holy Spirit. Jesus says that He is in the Father and also in us, and that we are in Him.

To be born again is to be born of the Spirit. We share in Christ’s death and resurrection, and the Holy Spirit comes and dwells in us.

There is a close unity within the person of God- Father, Son and Holy Spirit. When we are born again, we are brought into the union.

I am in God and God is in me. This is not some Eastern mystical idea where “god” is in the creation and everything is “god.”

No, this is about relationships. God invites us into a relational unity with Him that we were created for and which sin destroyed.

Because I am now in God, I need to protect this unity through a commitment to holiness. I do not want to risk this unity by offending God’s perfect holiness. This would be like defiling my marriage relationship by sleeping with a woman other than my wife.

We were created for a close relationship with God. Jesus died on the cross to restore the relationship. He gives us the Holy Spirit to be the centre of the relationship.

Prayer

Lord, this concept of being united with you is very hard to get my mind around. I don’t understand it, but I receive it. Please help me to repent and turn away from everything that would rob that relationship. Amen.

Leave a Reply

