Reflection on Acts 10:34-43

9774-cross_easter_sky_clouds.630w.tn

Passage: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Acts+10.34-43

Scripture

They put him to death by hanging him on a cross, but God raised Him to life on the third day.”

Observation

Peter is testifying at the house of Cornelius. He says that God accepts those from every nation who fear Him and do what is right. There is peace with God through Jesus Christ.

God anointed Jesus with Holy Spirit and with power. Jesus went around doing good and healing all. Men crucified Jesus, but God raised Him to life. He ordered His disciples to testify everywhere that Jesus is the one appointed to judge all people, the one the prophets foresaw who would bring forgiveness to all who believe in Him.

Application

This week is called Holy Week in some churches. It is the week we spend particularly contemplating the Easter message. Men killed Christ by nailing Him to a cross, but God raised Him from the dead.

It wasn’t the Roman soldiers who nailed Jesus to the the cross. That blame is shared by everyone who ever sinned. That includes me.

My sins took Jesus to the cross, but God demonstrated His love by raising Him from the dead.

That simple phrase, “But God” is such a powerful reminder of the power of God’s grace.

  • Jesus was dead in the tomb, but God raise Him to life

  • I was lost in my sins, but God forgave me

  • I was headed for Hell but God rescued me and put me on the path to heaven.

  • I was sick but God healed me.

What an awesome God!

God loved the world enough to heap up all the sins that people have ever committed and dump them on Jesus on the cross. Then He showed us that sin no longer has any power to bind us by raising Christ from the dead.

All my sins are gone because of Calvary.

The greatest part of this is that we don’t have to be perfect, or even good, to qualify. God’s forgiveness is here for everyone who receives the gift.

Prayer

Thank you Lord Jesus for dying for me. Now help me to live for you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

