Reflection on Ephesians 5:5-14

austin-neill-163306

Passage: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Ephesians+5.6-14

Scripture

Try to find out what is pleasing to the Lord.

Observation

We must not associate with people who seek to deceive with empty words for the wrath of God is coming down on the disobedient.

We were once darkness, but now in Christ we are light. So we must live as children of the light. We must have nothing to do with the shameful deeds of darkness.

Application

Sometimes Paul puts it straight and simple- try to find out what is pleasing to the Lord. That summarises the role of every christian.

We have been rescued from the darkness and now we must learn to live in he light as children of the light.

Sin must go, but righteous deeds must come in. We need to try to find out what is pleasing to the Lord.

Reading, studying and meditating on Scripture are a great way to do this. Scripture is God’s inspired word. Daily reading of the Bible is as important to the soul as eating is to the body.

Listening prayer is another important discipline. Prayer is not about laying out my demands before God who knows what we need before we even ask. Prayer is a two way conversation in which we still our heart to hear the still small voice of God.

By telling us to try to find out what is pleasing to the Lord, Paul reminds us this is a process, a gradual alignment of my will with the Lord’s.

We don’t always get it right, but that’s not the point. It is the intention or desire to please God that is important, not the total adherence to a set of rules.

God loves me. Because of His love for me, I am learning to love Him. I want to please Him because I love Him. I delight in God’s pleasure.

Prayer

Holy Spirit, please help me to learn how to please God. Remind me to read Scripture and pray daily. Teach me each day how to live my life as an offering to you.

Leave a Reply

