Reflection on Exodus 17:1-7

exodus17

Passage: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Exodus+17.1-7

Scripture

I will be standing there, in front of you on the rock at Horeb. Strike the rock, and water will come out of it so that the people may drink.”

Observation

The congregation of the Israelites journey through the wilderness as the Lord commands. They camp at Rephidim, but there is no water, and the people complain to Moses.

Moses goes to the Lord and asks Jim what he should do. The Lord tells him to strike the rock with his staff. So Moses does this, and the Lord provides water for the Israelites.

Application

The Lord is always with us. There is no place we can go where He is not already there.

When we are in dry places, dangerous places, anxious places or closed-in places, God is always with us.

If I am walking in the path set by the Lord, I can be sure that He is walking with me and He will give me the resources that I need to complete my assignment.

It is easy to have faith when I am by myself. It is much harder when I have to risk looking foolish in front of others. Moses seems to have often been in that place of having to trust God in front of the whole nation. What if he had got it wrong and God had not shown up?

Faith is risky. It is scary to let go of control and trust that I am hearing God correctly. What if I get it wrong and look stupid? What if I get it wrong and spoil someone else’s faith?

The Lord is big enough to handle the “What if’s” We just need to put out our hand to strike the rock, trusting that God is able to use us.

Prayer

Lord, please forgive my lack of faith and the fear that stops me from trusting you. Help me to reach out and believe that you are able. Amen.

Leave a Reply

