Reflection on Colossians 1:11-20

lights1528-resized

Passage: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Colossians 1:11-20

Scripture

He has rescued us from the kingdom of darkness and transferred us into the kingdom of his dear Son who purchased our freedom and forgave our sins.

Observation

Paul pays for the Colossians that they will be strengthened with God’s glorious power.

God has brought us out of the kingdom of darkness and transferred us into the Kingdom of His Son. Jesus purchased our freedom and forgave our sins.

Christ is God made visible. He preceded creation and reigns over all things. Everything in creation was made for Him and through Him.

Christ is the head of His church- and therefore my head. He is reconciling all things to Himself.

Application

We were trapped in a hostile, foreign country, but God rescued us. We were destined for hell, but God intervened and rescued us- He rescued me! I was dead and done, but He came and rescued me.

God’s way is not by might and power. He did not send in a military force with tanks, helicopters and bombs. No, He gave away His power, becoming flesh and dying on a cross.

This is our God. The God who spoke galaxies into existence with a word. The God who holds the whole of creation in His hand, who could crush everything instantly in his zeal to end evil. This God became weak, subjecting Himself to sinful men and women.

And He died.

In His death the great transfer took place. The guilty were forgiven and rescued from darkness.

At the cross I died and my sin died with me. I am a new creation, no longer bound by the chains of the dark kingdom. I am a citizen of a new kingdom, the kingdom of God. Reborn, released, refined.

Prayer

Jesus my Lord, you are my Saviour, my Redeemer. I was trapped in sin, but you rescued me. I was bound in chains, trapped in the kingdom of darkness, but you came and brought me out into your glorious Kingdom.

I never earned this, never deserved it. But your love is greater than my sin. Your mercy triumphs over my evil ways..

Your glorious majesty has won my heart. Thank you for setting me free, Help me to live as a child of the light not as a child of the darkness. Amen.

Leave a Reply

