Reflection on 2 Timothy 4:6-8, 16-18

runners4480

Passage: https://www.biblegateway.com/search?%s=2+Timothy+4.6-8,16-18

Scripture

I have fought the good fight; I have finished the race; I have kept the faith

Observation

Paul believes the time is close to his departure from this life. He has fought the good fight and kept the faith. Now he looks forward to receiving the crown of righteousness that is waiting for him- not just for Paul but for all who await the coming of the Lord.

At his first court hearing, there was nobody with him, but the Lord gave him strength so that he was delivered from the lion’s mouth. Paul knows that the Lord will rescue him from every evil attack and bring him safely into the heavenly kingdom.

Application

As he approached the end of his life, Paul could honestly say that he had fought the fight, finished the race and kept the faith.

My calling his not the same as Paul’s. We are all running our own race.

The key is to be faithful in the stewardship of the life God has called us to,.

There may be times when I feel like I have failed or pulled up short on what I should have done. There may be times when I feel like I have done the best I possibly could to honour God,. And there are the times when my life is so ordinary that God seems to be right out of the picture.

In all of these times I must determine to stay the course and remain faithful to Christ.

Prayer

Lord Jesus, help me to always seek you. No matter what comes my way, may the name of Christ be praised in my life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

