Reflection on John 20:19-21

slide-3-e28093-disciples-and-jesus.jpg

Referencehttps://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John+20.19-31

Scripture

These things are written so that you may come to believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that through believing you may have life in His name.

Observation

The disciples meet in a locked room, and Jesus appears. He shows them His wounds to demonstrate who He is. He breathes on them and gives them the Holy Spirit.

Thomas missed out on this event and so he refuses to believe that Jesus is alive. A week later the disciples again meet together, and again Jesus appears. Now Thomas is able to believe.

Jesus did much more than is recorded in John’s gospel. But these things are written in order to bring the reader to faith in Jesus.

Application

It must have been an exciting, even fearful, experience to meet with the risen Lord in this way.

Since Jesus ascended to heaven, we have the opportunity to meet the risen Lord every day. This may not be in the physical way of the disciples’ experience, but it is just as real.

The initiative now lies with us. It is up to me to start the conversation, to seek the Lord. When I do that He meets with me, hears my prayers, talks back and shows me His ways.

He truly is Emmanuel- God with us.

Prayer

Lord Jesus, I thank you that you are always with me, that your Spirit dwells in me. Help me to fellowship with you in every place I go, in every activity and conversation. Amen.

Leave a Reply

