Reflection on Exodus 3:1-15

Gebhard_Fugel_Moses_vor_dem_brennenden_Dornbusch_c1920.jpg

Scripture

Moses said, “I must turn aside and look at this great sight, and see why the bush is not burned up.”

Observation

Moses is tending his father-in-law’s sheep. He comes to Mount Horeb where he sees a bush enveloped in flame yet not burning up.

As Moses approaches, God speaks to him. He identifies Himself as the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. The Lord says that He has heard the cry of His people and He is going to rescue them and take them to their own land.

The Lord tells Moses he is to go to Pharaoh to set His people free. Moses says, “Who am I to go to Pharaoh?” The Lord promises that He will be with him.

Moses’ next question is “Who are you?” The Lord says, “I am who I am.”

Application

The Lord appears to Moses with a big mission- go to the leader of the world’s biggest power and demand that he set the Hebrew people free. This is huge, even for Moses who was raised in Pharaoh’s palace.

Moses asks for a sign and God tells him, “I will be with you. And you will know this because you will bring my people back here to worship me.”

In other words, God is telling Moses to trust Him, and after he has completed the task then he will see the sign.

I wonder how many people have missed out on God’s call because they wanted a sign up front. Sometimes God gives us a sign before we start, but His way often is to ask us to trust Him.

Prayer

Lord help me to trust you. Help me to see that you are with me even when it all seems too hard. Amen.

Leave a Reply

