Reflection on Jeremiah 1:1-10

jeremiah 1-5

Scripture

Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you

And before you were born I consecrated you

I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Observation

Jeremiah came from a priestly family and the word of the Lord came to him during the reigns of the last three kings of Judah- Josiah, Jehoiakim and Zedekiah.

The Lord says that from before Jeremiah was born He had appointed him a prophet to the nations. Jeremiah resists, saying he is only a boy. The Lord tells him that He, the Lord, will protect him as Jeremiah goes with the message.

The Lord then touches Jeremiah’s mouth and says that He has put His word in Jeremiah’s mouth, and Jeremiah will be used to pull down and raise up nations.

Application

It is important to remember always that the word of the Lord is in us in the form of the Holy Spirit.

I may not have the internationally influential ministry that Jeremiah had, but as long as I obey the Lord’s directions, I can be sure of His presence and protection.

Prayer

Lord I often feel inadequate for the task you have called me to, just like Jeremiah. Thank you that my calling is not dependent on my ability but on yours. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

