Reflection on Luke 3:15-22

OXYGEN VOLUME 13

Scripture

The Holy Spirit descended on him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven, “You are my Son, the Beloved; with you I am well pleased.”

Observation

People are filled with expectation about the Messiah and wonder if John is the one. John tells them the Messiah is yet to come. John baptises them with water but one is coming who will baptise the with fire and the Holy Spirit.

Because of his teaching and rebuking, Herod would later have John locked up.

Jesus comes to be baptised by John. The heavens open up and the Holy Spirit comes upon Him in the form of a dove. A voice from heaven affirms that Jesus is God’s Son.

Application

John’s ministry was all about Jesus. He was the one called to testify about the one to come and to build expectancy in people’s hearts.

We also share this calling. My life is not about my pleasure, my fame, my success. It’s all about testifying about Jesus, telling others about the glory of His grace.

Jesus brings us a baptism of fire and of Holy Spirit. We need to seek to receive this baptism, allowing the nature of God to surround us and fill us until we become just like Jesus.

Prayer

Lord baptise me in fire and Holy Spirit. Fill me with you so that I can demonstrate your grace in the world. Amen.

Leave a Reply

