Stacy Lynn Harp: The American (Australian) Church is a Whorehouse

Some very confronting words here for the American church and the Australian church also. Just change the nationality as you read.

Stacy Lynn Harp writes:

The American Church is a Whorehouse: Tullian Tchividjian Shows Us ThatScreen Shot 2015-06-23 at 12.11.22 PM   

I have many things on my heart as I have thought about writing what I’m about to share, so before I go any further, I’d like to ask that you don’t shoot the messenger and instead consider what I am sharing, then weigh in with your thoughts.

 

Yesterday the very sad, but not really all that surprising, news broke about the grandson of Billy Graham.  In case you’re not awareTullian Tchividjian admitted to adultery, after he was confronted by some in his church, and he resigned as the pastor of the church.  Note that he didn’t actually do the honorable thing and just resign when he knew he was doing these things, he had to be confronted by those in his church.  I actually think it’s a little miracle the leadership even did that.    The public statement that he released also revealed that his wife had also committed adultery.

I have to say that I remember when Tchividjian first came on the scene as the new pastor of the church because I found it sad that the grandson of Billy Graham was given the pastorate instead of someone who was apart of Coral Ridge at the time.  I remember thinking, “Here we go again, another Christian celebrity with the Graham name.”  I heard him being interviewed all over Christian media and I never understood why.  Why was he so great?  Because he’s related to the famed evangelist?  So what, big deal.

In case anyone hasn’t noticed, the Graham family doesn’t have the most stellar record of righteousness.  There’s been divorce among the children, adultery and even departure from the faith.  Even Anne Graham Lotz has written about her time away from the church because of her husband and her being thrown out of the church.

So, seeing another famous relative of the famed evangelist fall from “grace” as they all say, isn’t all that surprising and in fact, it’s to be expected.

I’m someone who didn’t have a Christian heritage growing up and I used to feel envious of those who were “blessed” to be raised in the church.  I no longer feel envious because most of what we see in this culture of Christian celebrity is nothing but hypocrisy.

The church in America has prostituted herself out for fame, money and personality.  To be even more blunt, the church in America is a whorehouse.  Now maybe that offends a few people and maybe you don’t agree with me, but that’s what I see.  There isn’t a day when there isn’t some news about a pastor “falling from grace” or someone involved in ministry of some type that isn’t caught busted in some “moral failure”.  Those “moral failures” are often sexual in nature, but not always, sometimes it involves money.  Other times it involves abuse of power and personality.

If we want actual revival in America, then it’s time to buck tradition and shut down the whorehouse.

Read the full article here

Leave a Reply

