Reflection on 1 John 5:1-6

1 john

Scripture

Loving God means keeping his commandments, and his commandments are not burdensome.

Observation

If you believe in Jesus, you are a child of God and you will want to love God’s children.

If you love God, you will keep His commandments, but this is not a burden because we obey from our love of God.

Every child of God defeats the world through faith. In fact, only those who have faith in Christ will defeat the world.

Application

Following Jesus involves a change in our lifestyle because of our love for God. I love the Lord and do not want to displease Him and so I do what He wants me to do, I do this from a motivation of love and so this is not a burden.

The people of the world cannot defeat the power of the world, but those who follow Jesus will. It is our faith- our unwavering trust in Him- that allows us to live in victory over sin and temptation.

Prayer

Lord, my sins and failings a re always before me. Thank you for the assurance that as I trust in you I will become more like you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

