Reflection on Exodus 20:1-17

Scripture

I am the Lord your God who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.”

Observation

Ten “word “ or commandments for the people of God:

1. No other gods

2. Do not worship idols

3. Do not misuse the name of the Lord

4. Do not work on the Sabbath

5. Honour your parents

6. Do not murder

7. Do not commit adultery

8. Do not steal

9. Do not give false testimony

10. Do not covet

Application

Many many things have been written and spoken about these simple commandments. Together they are a minimum standard of behaviour for a person to obey God and live His way.

Of course, Jesus takes this much further, dealing with the thoughts that precede the action.

Some people bridle at the suggestion that there are standards of behaviour for christians. “We are under grace, not law,” they say. This is true, but the requirements of responding to grace are far more stringent that mere law can dictate.

Jesus bought me out of slavery to sin and death. That says to me that I am His slave now and that means He has the right to tell me how to live.

Prayer

Lord please help me to honour you with my mind, my body, my thoughts and my words. Amen.

Leave a Reply

