Reflection on 1 Corinthians 9:16-23

Scripture

Preaching the good News is not something I can boast about. I am compelled by God to do it. How terrible for me if I didn’t preach the Good News.

Observation
Paul preaches because it is God’s compulsion and calling . How terrible it would be for him to deny that calling.

If this was his own idea, Paul could demand payment for services rendered, as a right. But it is God’s call and therefore it is Paul’s privilege to preach without payment.

Paul lives in such a way as to open the doors for the Gospel, trying to find common ground with everyone to gain the right to save some.

Application
Paul preaches the Good News because it is a passion planted in him by the Lord.

We all need to find the one thing that God has planted us on this planet to do, and then go and do it with all our heart.

I have heard of young women going to remote parts of Africa and feeling that they have arrived home, and then achieving the most amazing things for God’s kingdom.

I have been called by God to Narrabri to pastor a congregation here, and I will do that for as long as I have the strength to do it, or until the Lord says it is time to move on.

When God calls is to a mission, He gives us all the resources and the passion to persevere until the job is done.

Prayer
Thank you Lord for the calling you have placed on my life. May I ever walk in that calling and be faithful to you in that. Amen.

Leave a Reply

