Reflection on Exodus 3:1-15

Scripture

God replied to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. Say this to the people of Israel: I AM has sent me to you.”

Observation
Moses is in the wilderness tending his father-in-law’s sheep. At Mount Sinai the Lord reveals Himself as a blazing fire in a bush.
God calls to Moses from the bush. He tells Moses that He has heard the cries of distress from His people, so He is going to rescue them and take them to their own land. Moses is to go to Pharaoh and lead Israel out of Egypt.
Moses asks “What name will we know you by?” The Lord says His holy name, “I AM WHO I AM.”

Application
The Lord announces in verse 8 that He has come down to rescue His people and lead them out. Then immediately He tells Moses, “Now go, for I am sending you.”
God does nothing without raising up people. His “coming down” consists often of “calling up” a person or a people.
Moses asks “Who am I to do this?” The answer is “It doesn’t matter who you are, for I am the Lord and I am with you.”
We might feel that we are inadequate for the task before us- no training, no ability, no background. To God that doesn’t matter. The only qualification He looks for is obedience.

Prayer
Father I stand here in your presence, aware of your calling and my weakness. Lead me, direct me, empower me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

