Reflection on Matthew 11:16-30

Icon3Lectio14AColor

Scripture
“Come to me all of you are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

Observation
Jesus criticises the religious people who condemned John for being too serious and Jesus for being a glutton and a drunkard who hangs out with the wrong people.
He goes on to denounce the towns where He has demonstrated His power in miracles and healings, but they refuse to repent. The people of Tyre, Sodom and Sidon will be better off on judgement day than these people.
The only way to salvation is by the Father and through the Son to whom the Father has entrusted all things. Jesus invites all who are worn down by the burdens of religion to come to Him and enjoy His rest.

Application
Those who are motivated by the religious spirit never find rest. They will always be critical of those who fail to perform to their expectations- even the Son of God.
They pile up burdens of duties and behaviours and sacrifices on themselves and on others. These burdens don’t bring any freedom or reconciliation with God. They just make them miserable.
Jesus lays no expectation on people but that they follow Him. He brings us into relationship with the Father, not by performance but by grace. We don’t have to earn God’s favour or forgiveness, just receive what He already gives.
His yoke truly is easy to bear.

Prayer
Lord Jesus I take your yoke. I connect myself to you, trusting you to lead me, direct me and mould me. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

