Reflection on Matthew 10:37-42

65e65-img_6560_thumb

Scripture

Whoever does not take up the cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Those who find their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it.”

Observation

Jesus demands a dedication stronger than love for our parents or children. We must take up a cross and follow Him. To find your life is to lose it, and to lose your life in him is to find it.

To welcome a disciple is to welcome Jesus. Even a cup of water to His disciples brings a reward.

Application

When our relationships get in the way of eternal life with Christ, we have to be prepared to let them go for His sake. Love for Jesus must be even greater than our love for family.

We even have to give up our life for Christ. To take up a cross is to walk towards certain death.

Everything- my possessions, my dreams, my family, my life- has to come under the lordship of Christ. He, and He alone, must determine all that I do. Anything that gets in the way of my total surrender to Christ must go.

Does that mean I stop loving my family? Of course not! It does mean that there is a higher love, a higher calling, that must take precedence.

Prayer

Lord your love for me means everything. Help me to put you first today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

