More Air, More Spirit

Before going on my almost daily bike ride this afternoon, I decided to check the pressure in my tyres. I was surprised to find that they were down to only 20 psi and 30 psi instead of the preferred 50 psi . I got out  the compressor and in the space of a few minutes I corrected the problem.

When I rode, I immediately noticed the difference. Instead of slogging away,feeling as if there was a stiff wind blowing against me, I almost seemed to fly. My speed was nearly 5 km/hr faster than yesterday, and I returned home feeling refreshed rather than exhausted.

A bit of air in the tyres makes all the difference.

In the bible the words for spirit in both Hebrew and Greek can also mean breath or wind.

If we have the Holy Spirit leading our lives, directing our paths and empowering our deeds, we will find ourselves able to do more with less effort. Instead of it being all my work, I become energised by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Next Sunday the church marks Pentecost, the day when the Holy Spirit was poured out into the church. Lives were transformed and within a couple of generations the whole of the Roman Empire was filled with people proclaiming the message that “Jesus Christ is Lord.”

Pumped up, full of the Holy Spirit- nothing can stop the man or woman of God.

Leave a Reply

