Listening

Ear

Most mornings I get up early and spend an hour or so in prayer. Sometimes I am just too physically tired, but 90% of the time I do this.

This morning I deliberately chose to put my prayer list aside, and spend time just listening to the “still small voice.” I realised that it’s been a while since I’ve done this, despite regularly encouraging my congregation to do it. It is just too easy to get into a prayer rut where we fill up the silence with the things we want God to address- it’s certainly easier than listening to God’s list that He wants us to correct!

During this time this thought came to me: “The reason so few hear God is that we do not listen to Him.”

It takes time, physically doing nothing but listen. We are perennially busy occupied with how best to fill our hours. Sitting and waiting for God to speak seems so wasteful.

And what if God doesn’t actually say anything?

More frightening, what if God does say something? Who can stand before the voice of the Lord?

This morning, God just told me that He loves me and enjoys what I do for Him and with Him.

That certainly lifted my spirits! It put a spring in my step and a joy in my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

