Reflection on Romans 7:15-25

Scripture
I don't really understand myself for I want to do what is right but I don't do it. Instead I do what I hate.

Observation
Paul describes very powerfully the dilemma of sin. We know what is right and what is wrong. Even if we hate sin we still find ourselves often trapped by it.

It is as if sin is a force inside us directing our actions.

The Good News is that there is a way out of this- Jesus Christ can set us free from this slavery to sin.

Application
The world tells us not to fret about sin but to cast off guilt and just be ourselves. It doesn't work too well because sin, guilt and righteousness are real.

Religion tells us to deal with sin by just doing better. Follow this rule. Apply that principle. Change the outside appearance and we can be good. That doesn't deal with the inner driving force that is embedded in our hearts.

Only total surrender to Christ will deal with sin. Ongoing repentance recognising the reality f sin and our need for deliverance will rid us of the problem.

Sin requires heart surgery. It is painful and risky, but it is essential.

Prayer
Lord my life is marked by the conflict that Paul describes. I confess that sin is real in my life, I enjoy sin even when I hate it. Please change my heart and mind and remove this terrible thing from me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

